Posted in Uncategorized
11 May, 2018

Newry City Merchants 10k 2018

Inaugural Newry City Merchants 10K

The Inaugural Newry City Merchants 10K took place on Thursday 10th May at 7pm, at the Quays Shopping Centre and was a great success with all 200 places filled the weekend before. It was a glorious evening, and perfect weather conditions for running.

The bright sunshine was a good omen on what was an extremely successful Inaugural Newry City Merchants 10K! This route, proved to be a fast one with many runners achieving that much desired Personal Best!

The winners in the Men’s category were: Gerard Heaney 33:19, Mark Malone 35:42 and Niall Porter 36:32.
The winners in the Female category were: Sinead Murtagh 38:09, Martsje Hell 38.54 and Ciara Coffey 40.11
NCR members turned out in force for their Club’s first event with some very impressive times and 14 PBs obtained.
First NCR Male home was Aidan Murray with a very impressive 37.43 (PB), closely followed by Conor Morgan 38.22 (PB) and Paddy Havern 39.14, Bernard Hamill 39.44, Hugh McConnell 40.22, James Hughes 41.25, Neil McMurray 42.22, Pat Rocks 42.57, Cathal Mulholland 43.41 (PB), Mark Clements 43.52, Aine Fegan (First NCR Lady home) 44.06, Andrew Fitzgerald 44.10, Deborah Loughran (PB) (2nd NCR Lady) 46.48, Deirdre Kelly (3rd NCR lady) 46.55, Sinead Gallagher 46.58 (PB), Ciaran McBride 48.27, Damian McCann 48.34 (PB), Conor Devlin 49.41 (PB) Willie McCracken 49.48, Jim Malcolmson 52.14 (PB), Peter Simpson 53.39 (PB), Pamela Fegan 52.29 (PB), Michelle Mowlds 52.55 (PB), Paul McConville 54.33 (PB), Tracey Ruane 57.04, Kate Mulholland 57.43, Sharon Maginn 57.46, Gloria Havern 58.57, Janine Burns 59.24 (PB), Sinead Dillon 1.01.20, Michelle Currie 1.02.02 (PB), Donna Wills Hughes 1.03.43, Paul McGuigan 1.09 and Denis Heaney 1.17.21

On behalf of the Newry City Runners committee we would like to thank everyone that was involved (marshalls, photographers and event coordinators) and all who attended/participated our inaugural Newry City of Merchants 10K.